Principal Investigator

profile photoDr Jan Mol 

Jan is a UKRI Future Leaders Fellow and Reader in Quantum and Nano-electronics. Jan got his PhD from the Delft University of Technology. Before joining QMUL, he worked at the Centre for Quantum Computation and Communication Technologies in Sydney and at the University of Oxford.

Research Team


Dr Maryana Asaad

After completing a PhD in Inorganic materials chemistry at Heriot-Watt University, where she worked on half Heusler based thermo-electrics, Maryana went on to join the National Graphene institute at the University of Manchester. She now works In Dr Mol’s group on self-assembled nanoparticle arrays, toward thermoelectric applications.

Eugenia Pyurbeeva

Eugenia completed a degree in Physics at the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, studying in the low temperature group at the Kapitza Institute. She joined QMUL as a PhD student in 2018 and works on the interpretation of direct entropy measurements in nanodevices.

Zaid Dhorat

Zaid completed his master’s in physics at the E.A. Milne Centre for Astrophysics at the University of Hull, Studying Solar flares, and quantising energy emissions. He started his PhD at Queen Mary’s in 2020 and, amongst other topics, is investigating the applications of nanopores in DNA sensing.

Teymour Talha-Dean

Academic Visitors

Dr Xinya Bian

Dr Charalambos Evangeli

Dr Sumit Tewari


Dr Jakub Sowa – Northwestern University

Dr Ghazi Sarwat – IBM

Dr Pawel Puczkarski – University of Oxford

Dr Pascal Gehring – Delft University of Technology

Dr Junjie Liu – University of Oxford

Dr Greg Holloway – University of Waterloo

Dr Aaron Lau – A*STAR Institute of Materials Research and Engineering

Dr Felix Schupp – Princeton University

Dr Alex Barbaro – Royal Australian Air Force

Dr Amin Karimi – Walter Schottky Institut

%d bloggers like this: